PENALTY CHAOS: Utd ROBBED as Palace Star Gets TWO SHOTS!

PENALTY CHAOS: Utd ROBBED as Palace Star Gets TWO SHOTS!

The tension at Selhurst Park was palpable as Jean-Philippe Mateta prepared to take a penalty against Manchester United. He struck the ball, but a slight, accidental double-touch momentarily halted the game, a new rule looming large over the moment.

Under the old regulations, that would have been it – penalty disallowed. But a recent shift in the laws of the game granted Mateta a second chance. He stepped up again, facing Senne Lammens, the United goalkeeper, with the weight of expectation pressing down.

This time, Mateta aimed for the opposite corner, a calculated shift in strategy. The result, however, remained the same: the net rippled, and the stadium erupted. The goal stood, a direct consequence of a rule change born from controversy.

Crystal Palace v Manchester United - Premier League

The change stemmed from a Champions League clash earlier in the year, where Julian Alvarez of Atletico Madrid had a perfectly good penalty disallowed due to an unintentional slip and contact with his standing leg. The decision felt harsh, a pivotal moment in a tight contest against Real Madrid.

The International Football Association Board (IFAB) responded, clarifying Law 14. The new interpretation stated that a penalty with an accidental double-touch would be allowed to stand, and even be retaken if initially successful. It was a move to prioritize the spirit of the game.

UEFA swiftly adopted the new rule, announcing its implementation starting with the UEFA Nations League semi-final. FIFA followed suit, extending the change to European Qualifiers, signaling a widespread acceptance of the revised law.

FBL-ENG-PR-CRYSTAL PALACE-MAN UTD

The Premier League also confirmed the update at the start of the season, clearly outlining the distinction between accidental and deliberate double-touches. A deliberate touch would result in an indirect free-kick for the opposing team, maintaining a degree of fairness.

Mateta’s successful retake wasn’t just a goal; it was a demonstration of the rule in action. VAR initially flagged the double-touch, but the updated law allowed play to continue, ultimately leading to a crucial goal for Crystal Palace.

Atletico de Madrid v Real Madrid C.F. - UEFA Champions League 2024/25 Round of 16 Second Leg